After Work Pepper Steak over Steamed Rice

I found this recipe on mrfood.com.  After reading it carefully, I made a few adjustments to “claim” it as my own.  For one thing, the original recipe called for a tablespoon of corn starch.  Maybe it’s just me, but I don’t particularly care for the strange after-taste of corn starch.  I admire the way corn starch “puffs up” when used to coat meats that are then flash-fried.  Thus far I haven’t found a suitable substitute that will give the same results.  But as a thickening agent, in my opinion there are better alternatives.  Arrowroot is a possibility, although it’s rather expensive if used in large quantities.  Wondra Flour is awesome – not terribly expensive, and it dissolves smoothly in liquid without much effort.  Another plus is that there is no strange after-taste.

Another change I made was in the use of onions. The original recipe called for “scallions” (I have yet to find a difference between scallions and green onions).  I decided to use shallots instead, thinly sliced.  Then I added just the green tops of some green onions at the end for added color.

The final change between my recipe and the original is the use of garlic.  Honestly, I was tired.  It had been a very long day, and I simply didn’t feel like peeling and chopping fresh garlic.  So I used about a tablespoon of roasted chopped garlic that comes in a jar.  The roasted variety of the jarred garlic has a nice flavor, adding another layer to the dish, however slight that may be.

Oh, I almost forgot . . . the original recipe did not include salt and pepper to taste.  That’s purely optional, but I like a little salt and pepper on my beef.

This recipe is definitely a keeper.  Great for a mid-week meal.

After Work Pepper Steak over Steamed Rice
Rice
2 Cups White Rice

Steam rice according to directions. While rice is steaming, prepare sauce for meat.

Sauce
1/2 cup beef broth
3 tablespoons soy sauce
1 Tablespoon Wondra Flour
1 teaspoon ground ginger

In a small bowl, combine broth, soy sauce, Wondra, and ginger; mix well and set aside.

Stir-Fry
2 tablespoons vegetable oil
1 1/2 pounds beef top or bottom round steak, cut into thin strips
Sea Salt to taste
Fresh Pepper to taste
1 red bell pepper, cut into thin strips
4 ounces fresh sliced mushrooms
2 shallots, sliced
1 teaspoon roasted garlic, minced
3-4 Green Onions, tops only, sliced

In a large skillet or wok over medium-high heat, heat oil; saute beef 2 to 3 minutes, or until browned.

Add peppers, mushrooms, shallots, and garlic and cook 5 more minutes, or until vegetables are tender.

Add broth mixture to skillet and cook 4-5 minutes, or until sauce thickens.

Sprinkle with green onion, toss and serve immediately over rice.

One thought on “After Work Pepper Steak over Steamed Rice

Leave a comment